An invitation from the ASMR National Scientific Conference Convenors,
Dr Sarah Meachem and Dr Brigid Lynch




"These are truly exciting times in biology or biomedical research and if one has the technologies and also the courage to look outside of our engrained point of vision, one can indeed come up with something truly novel and true novelty gives birth to new ideas"                                                                                                      Prof Josef Penninger


Transdisciplinary research is team science and your research fits into the template of this meeting 

Team science is the future and it begins now!


We are delighted to announce Josef Penninger (Institute of Molecular Biotechnology, Austria) as this year’s Firkin Orator.  Professor Penninger will speak on his groundbreaking work from animal models to their translational outcomes at the whole genome level. Prof Tanya Monro (the University of Adelaide) this year’s Edwards orator will share her work tackling transdisciplinary innovations in chronic disease suing photonics and advance sensing.

Other conference highlights include our engaging symposia and interactive workshops, including a ‘Transdisciplinary hypothetical’, an exciting new initiative creating a medical research scenario on “How to build a transdisciplinary team” that will be show cased by a transdisciplinary dream team, and a workshop addressing ‘Enabling the flow of research knowledge into clinical practice’ where experts from diverse backgrounds share how to effectively communicate discovery into translation and policy.  There are 2 unique Professional development sessions:  ‘The Strategic Researcher’ and ‘Cognitive Behavioural Coaching for High Performers’.  These will be run by Dr Maria Gardiner from ThinkWell™. These sessions are targeted to mid career researchers. Students are invited to rub shoulders will Nobel prize winner, Prof Peter Doherty and world renowned scientists including Josef Penninger at the Student breakfast. This is a fantastic opportunity to get one on one mentoring from these very humble, very personable and famous researchers.

Abstracts for the National Scientific Conference will be accepted from all fields of medical research, providing delegates with the opportunity to showcase their work through oral and poster presentations.  We particularly encourage students and early career researchers to submit their research; they may be eligible for one of the awards offered by ASMR each year.  A number of travel subsidies are provided to enable promising students to attend the National Scientific Meeting, while students and ASMR members aged 30 or less can apply for the Campion-Ma-Playoust Memorial Award.  For further information about these awards, click on the links, below.


Student Travel Subsidy 

For the application form for student travel subsidy please click here


Campion-Ma-Playoust Memorial Award

This award was introduced by the ASMR in 1975.  It consists of a certificate and cash award for the best oral or poster presentation by a student member or a member under thirty years of age at the time of the Meeting. Please tick the relevant box on the abstract submission form if you wish to be considered.

For more information please click here


Confirmed International Speakers

Prof Norman Ratcliffe, University of West England, UK
A/Prof Manu O. Platt, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Dr Rutledge Ellis-Benke, University of Heidelberg, Germany
Prof Josef Penninger, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology, Austria (Firkin Orator)


Confirmed National Speakers

A/Prof David Anderson, Burnet Institute, VIC
A/Prof Felicity Baker, 
University of Melbourne, VIC
Prof David Bowtell, 
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, VIC
Prof Peter Choong, University of Melbourne, VIC
Dr Michael Inouye, University of Melbourne, VIC
Prof Meg Morris, La Trobe University, VIC
Prof Anthony Burkitt, University of Melbourne, VIC
Prof Peter Colman, Melbourne Health, VIC
Dr Anna Ahimastos, Alfred Hospital, VIC
Dr Priscillia Rogers, IBM Research, VIC
Prof Margaret Hellard, Burent Institute, VIC
Dr Peter Stanton, MIMR-PHI, VIC
Dr Takemi Sugiyama, University of South Australia, SA
Dr Saskia Decuypere, Telethon Institute, WA
Prof Rosalie Viney, Unversity of Technology Sydney, NSW
A/Prof Louise Maple-Brown, Menzies School of Health, NT
Prof Robert Adams, University of Adelaide, SA
Prof Allison Cowin, University of South Australia, SA
Prof Miles Davenport, University of New South Wales, NSW
Prof Caroline McMillen, University of Newcastle, NSW